Home » God and Christianity » Moments

Moments

We all have those moments,

it can’t just be me?

Those terrifying moments

that leave you wondering

how can this be?

Those days when you are ready to give up

when you want to say enough.

Even those days

interspersed with happiness

remain blighted by what was

 

So what do you do?

How do you keep going?

Would it be easier to still pretend?

You find yourself wondering

whether it will be worth it in the end.

When you find yourself alone

you are overwhelmed with these questions,

feeling too heavy emotions

that refuse to be concealed.

You just can’t take anymore

and something inside snaps,

silently you scream

as you sink to your knees.

 

You find yourself asking why

and you find yourself asking when.

You demand answers,

you demand comfort,

you demand never to be alone again.

You wait and you listen

barely daring to breathe,

perhaps for divine intervention

or a simple witness to your pain.

But there’s nothing to be heard,

you realise there’s no gain.

You wonder if your heart is breaking

as you declare “I give in”.

And you are falling

you are falling hard, you are falling fast

you hit the floor alone.

 

Laying silently, heart pounding

you curl into a ball.

Listening to your gasps of breath

you wonder “is it too late?”

You close your eyes

accepting your fate.

But there’s a stirring inside you,

calmness moving throughout.

A gentle reassurance

something deep inside,

a whisper, barely there

but one you cannot deny.

Something is willing you,

pulling you to your feet.

As you dust yourself down

calmness restored,

the realisation hits

maybe you weren’t alone afterall.

 

9 thoughts on “Moments

  1. Its so accurate how you write ..you not alone its a hard road ..
    And yes so many times i drop to my knees asking praying for help calmness or somebody’s presence …
    And it never fails me im always reassured by his inner calmness in me !
    Take care Lisa

  2. I’m there right now. The past 24 hours have been awful and the next 24 will be too. I really feel I need strength right now, so thank you for these words that remind me I’m not alone

  3. Taken from “Footprints”
    “My precious child,
    I love you and I would never leave you.
    During your times of trial and suffering,
    when you see only one set of footprints,
    it was then that I carried you.”

  4. I know that your writings and your blog will help so many others. We all, in our vulnerable moments, need to know that we are not alone and that someone understands what we are going through. Someone has been through a similar experience and has begun the healing process, that healing is possible. I wish you all the best.

Leave a Reply

