Home » Poetry » I am not you.

I am not you.

I can’t even begin to explain how painful this was to write, but also can’t explain the huge release I feel right now. Sometimes, I just get this urge to write and it pours out; the biggest relief is found in those moments.

 

All I did was care

nothing but love for you,

Perhaps I thought

you could be saved

and I’d be that heroine

 

I knew you were hurt

damaged and broken

I just wanted to help

naively to fix you

but you were beyond repair

 

It could never be me

I couldn’t rescue you

It’s  like you hated me

And so you wouldn’t be alone

you tried to break me too

 

You took me down with you

we were drowning together

suffocating in your evil

but I couldn’t find my rescuer

Where was my life ring?

 

And now I’m left with this

with the echos of you,

of your words and actions

imprinted on my soul

but oh you didn’t break me

 

Yes, I am hurt

and feel so damaged

but I am not beyond repair

See, I am not you

and I never will be

 

5 thoughts on “I am not you.

  1. Very, very powerful! I can only imagine how hard that was for you to write, but I am glad that you have such strong dedication and feelings. It is great to be able to release such emotions and I know that sometimes the only way that we are able to do that is through our poetry and writing. Good for you! *hugs*

  2. this is beautiful. it was emotional for me to read, because you wrote so many things I have felt as well. but I’m so glad you had the courage to write it ❤

Leave a Reply

