Home » My Journey » Here with them

Here with them

So we have family visiting. Day one and I need to handle this better. I want to have fun, I want to enjoy them, I want to enjoy myself.

 

Familiar faces,

cute accents,

squidgy hugs.

Lots of smiles

tears and laughter.

So good to see

them all again.

 

PTSD

bad memories

intrusive thoughts.

Shaky hands

and dissociation

Forced focus

no time for this

I must engage.

 

I want to enjoy this

like everyone else

no more faking.

Why can’t I be

just like them?

I feel like an outsider

looking in.

 

At times

almost there.

So close

I can nearly

reach them

I just want to be

here with them.

 

3 thoughts on “Here with them

Leave a Reply

