Home » My Journey » I am not broken, I am finding myself

I am not broken, I am finding myself

 

Please stop trying to fix me, I am not broken.

Sure, sometimes I feel lost, but I am on a journey.

Though the path ahead isn’t always clear, I know I am moving forwards.

 

I can count my blessings thank you. I am well aware.

I know just what I have and I know it could be worse.

I know there are positives and yes, there are achievements.

But that does not make this go.

It is merely one step of many, that I will have to take.

I don’t ask you to understand, but you are minimising my pain

As if focusing on the good things can make this go away.

Ignoring is destructive,  believe me I have done that for years.

 

Perhaps to you it seems, as if I am ruining my life

But reality is, I didn’t feel before. My life was utterly fake.

I have lived in turmoil, with competing sides of me.

I have repressed anger for years and years and years.

So no therapy isn’t ruining my life, it’s connecting me with me.

 

I know it’s hard to hear but the me you knew was not real.

There’s a me inside this pain and one day I will reveal.

I live the truth now, it’s no longer hidden from me

And though that brings great pain, there’s also huge relief.

There is freedom in reality, even if I feel like hell.

 

So please stop trying to fix me, though I know you mean well

I am not broken, I am just finding myself.

 

7 thoughts on “I am not broken, I am finding myself

  1. Thank you for reading and commenting.

    This is mostly about society in general.
    It seems so common for us all to try to support each other with “chin up” and “count your blessings” and then there’s a danger of people suppressing their feelings..Sometimes it’s good to hear “yeah that’s really shit” Just a bit of validation.

Leave a Reply

