Home » Poetry » I didn’t know

I didn’t know

I didn’t know much about love before I met you.

Sure I had crushes, Boyzone, Take That.

I even had a boyfriend once, we held hands.

But I had never loved, I did not understand

I didn’t know much about sex before I met you

I knew the biology, I had the Sex Ed.

Yet, I knew there had to be more to that.

But I had never come close, I did not understand

 

I thought you taught me love

You held my hand, you walked me home

You pulled me close and kissed me gently

You took care of me, you were protective

I thought I was embraced with love and safety.

I see it now, I know the truth

You engineered it all, it was a ploy.

You cannot love, you are not capable.

I thought our love had to be physical

Sacrificing for the sake of us

Give and take, you were well rehearsed

You took and took and I never gave,

 

I didn’t know much about love after we met

My heart not broken, it was never yours.

We had nothing together you and I,

Your role was abuser and mine the victim.

I didn’t know much about sex after we met.

No longer a virgin, yet I’d never had sex.

I see it now, we were not equals.

What you did was nothing but violence

It was not sex and never love.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “I didn’t know

  1. Pingback: Love, Sex, Relationships and Truth | Shedding Light on Darkness

Leave a Reply

