Home » Poetry » She wakes.

She wakes.

 

 

It is as if there is another entity within me.

Something lurking inside, just waiting for her moment.

Though sometimes she sleeps, she won’t ever truly let me be.

 

And with every step forward I take, she wakes.

Pushing her way to the surface,

she reminds me of what is at stake.

 

Blaming me for what I did and what I did not do.

Taking control, she shows me I am dirty, she shows me I am used

and if only they knew, they would leave me too.

 

She ridicules my stupidity, for my trust, my love, my hope.

The death of my insecurities are revived by her doubt

Why did I rely on them? How could I ever thought I’d cope?

 

She is awake today, the same as yesterday and the day before,

hating me for trusting, for my reliance and my neediness.

I feel her disdain, she despises me to my core.

 

And as I try to claw my way back, I have to wonder if she’s right?

Knowing I am doubting too, she won’t concede now.

It’s easier to give in and let her lead. I can no longer fight.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “She wakes.

  1. RISE UP!! kill that voice inside of you that blames you and tells you that you are nothing. “She” is nothing! You are stronger than her! don’t succumb to those demeaning thoughts! you are not who you were before!! You have been made new! Jesus makes us new, we just have to keep stomping on the head of that “girl” who tries to rise up!
    Read these lyrics and apply them to your heart:

    “To the voice to the liar in the mirror*
    Sayin you can’t ever change
    To the guilt that’s sittin on your shoulder
    Always keepin you locked in chains
    To the past that you can’t undo
    To the pain that you’re walkin through
    To the small and the big mistakes
    This is what love wants to say
    Say goodbye
    Say goodbye
    To the one that used to be
    Say goodbye
    Say goodbye
    Everyday is a brand new mercy
    Hello
    Hello
    This is where it starts now
    Hello
    Hello
    Everything can turn around
    In a moment, here’s your moment
    You can say goodbye
    There is grace that you can’t imagine
    There is love that you can’t out run
    There is peace that you can hold onto
    When your world is comin undone
    You don’t have give into the fear
    Don’t have to have let your story stop here
    And when the hand tries to pull you back
    You don’t have to back, you don’t have to go back
    Say goodbye
    Say goodbye
    To the one that used to be
    Say goodbye
    Say goodbye
    Everyday is a brand new mercy
    Hello
    Hello
    This is where it starts now
    Hello
    Hello
    Everything can turn around
    In a moment, here’s your moment
    You can say goodbye
    To everything that breaks you down
    It doesn’t have to define you now
    Jesus came to take it all away
    Say goodbye
    Say goodbye
    To the one that used to be
    Say goodbye
    Everyday is a brand new mercy
    Hello,Hello
    This is where it starts now
    Hello,Hello
    Everything can turn around
    In a moment, here’s your moment
    You can say goodbye
    Say goodbye

    Read more: Mandisa – Say Goodbye Lyrics | MetroLyrics

Leave a Reply

