Home » My Journey » The importance of telling your story.

The importance of telling your story.

I think most survivors reach the point where they want and need to tell their story. They need to be heard, not just about what happened to them, but how much it hurt and how it still hurts..the damage it did, the damage they are still trying to repair.

I have been in therapy for some time now, telling my T about my past. As time has passed and I have become more used to telling, I have noted a difference in disclosure versus telling my story.

Disclosure to my T feels almost medical, like a necessary procedure in order to kick start the process that is healing. Now I have reached the point of feeling, it is as if I am sharing my story, rather than disclosing. The more I feel, the more I need to be heard and the more I need to share that story with (some of) the world. 

There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside of you. – Maya Angelou

 

In recent weeks I have been telling my T how it was for me back then, how much it hurt-while I was still able to feel (before I shut off emotionally). We talk “incidents” but sort of skirt around them, talking about them, but not in detail. I have been talking to him about it as a whole- at least the “stuff” that was done to me when I was 14. That is new for me and it’s horrible. I hate it. But, I would be lying if I said that it wasn’t healing for me. He hears me. My T sees me and he hears me. He is hearing my story. It helps, it’s necessary and I need this, so, very much. 

I have talked and continue to do so to a few individuals about my past. It is becoming increasingly more important and the benefits are greater than ever before. It helps to tell. I want to tell. How it felt, what he did and how badly I was hurt. I need to be heard. Not for sympathy, nor for attention. Simply, because I need people to know and to witness what no one knew back then. I deserve to be heard and understand as much as is possible. 

 

The last few weeks have been rough- more than rough. Unfortunately, I have had other issues and memories contributing to an already difficult time. I am doing my best to shelve them as much as possible and in some respects I am succeeding. One particular “incident” though continues to bother me. 

I don’t feel it is on my mind because I have issues or concerns. I don’t need to disclose it again. I have done that, but what I haven’t done with this, is tell my story. I am issue free as far as this is concerned. I would even go as far as to say that I am not just living with it, I am living beyond it. A few months ago I posted on here to say I felt free from the men who did it. That still stands. I think. Yet the need to tell my story remains. 

I don’t mean I need to tell all the vile details- that is for me and my T only, instead it is simply a want and need to share some of that awful experience with another person. 

I see my T tomorrow and I desperately do not want to side track to this incident.I am hoping by reaching this understanding that I need to tell this story will be enough to sort of appease that need for now. 

Does anyone else ever feel that way? Desperate to share? I am at the point where I even considered putting my story out here and that has always been a huge NO NO (and after a mental shake, remains so).

10 thoughts on “The importance of telling your story.

  1. I have been FIGHTING for any place to tell my story. It seems so strange that the media only wants to talk to the media darlings of the moment. I don’t say that to belittle the victims but to call out the media on the way they ignore others. Telling our story is very important not just for us but to help or educate others. All our story’s are different in events but the damage and life long effects are all much the same.

  2. Eloquently written. I have reached a similiar point. Previously I had spoken about the facts but never applied the emotion. This is something I’m struggling with now. Finding my voice. Both now as an adult making sense of it and a voice for the girl I was. I’m working hard with my therapist and my husband knows the ‘facts’ but on from that I don’t know what the answer is. I did do a group therapy session where other people seemed more comfortable sharing. I don’t know if that’s an option for you? Writing is certainly carthetic if you don’t want to publish on here can you write it out for a close friend? Good luck for your appointment x

  3. Yes, there are some times when I feel desperate to tell my story. Getting it out may be a struggle the whole time that I am trying to share it, but I just know that the time for silence and isolation with those memories is past.

    There have been a few times when I have written out more of my story than I would normally post on my blog and then posted it as a password protected post. That way I know that no one will accidentally stumble across it on a google search and either be triggered or read it out of idle curiosity. I have pulled a couple of posts within a few hours of posting them, because I realized that they left me feeling too exposed, but over all it works pretty well.

  4. I write my story because I want to, period. I am not forcing anyone to read it…their choice to look or not as it is my choice to tell my story in order to better understand and heal.

    • Thank you for your comment. I am glad you are able to do that and it is healing for you.

      I have family reading and also an abuser who I fear (even if it seems ridiculous) may find me from what I write.

      While I wish I could be so confident, right now I’d prefer my family not know the full extent of my story.

      I hope one day, I can be as strong as you. You are an inspiration.

      x

      • Strength unfortunately is not something I see in myself, if you can believe that… writing has to be, otherwise I’ll drive myself crazy.

Leave a Reply

