Home » Therapy » How a Victim becomes a Defendant in the British Law Courts: Cross Examination.

How a Victim becomes a Defendant in the British Law Courts: Cross Examination.

And this is why women don’t report. This is heartbreaking but sadly, not a shock or surprise.
I am sickened that she was treated in this way. I am sickened that we are treated this way.

I believe her.

Revoking My Anonymity

I have already uploaded a post outlining the failures of the British Justice system in regards to my rape case and the process I had to go through to get to where I did, to then be told it was a ‘not guilty’. This, this is about my experience in an isolated video link room, his barristers eyes staring into me, and how cutting her words were.

I was cross examined for a total of over 11 hours, spread over the course of three days – being torn apart and having to see things I never thought I’d have to watch with an audience, an audience that I would never be able to see – complete strangers.

The first day I sat and watched my video statement, I watched myself – a scared 20 year old girl who had jet black hair and a pale face. I sat there cracking…

View original post 2,345 more words

Leave a Reply

